top of page
Search
  • Evie Duncan

Study Types

Have you ever found yourself lost while studying? This might be resolved by studying for your type.This is Evie’s Everything, so you bet I am going to write about anything and everything! Just like every student out there knows, studying is something that is not required. You will go through school having teachers that will urge you to study, but you truly are the only one that can make the decision to study.

 

I am a junior in high school, so I have had my fair share of studying, but it was just this year that I found out not everyone studies the same. My English CP teach, Mrs. Marsha Humphrey, gave us a test to see what category of studiers/learners we are. I still thank her for giving us this test because if she hadn’t, I would have never found out that I was an auditory learner. There are three types of learners: visual, kinesthetic, and auditory.


Visual learners usually sit in the front of the classroom where they can be organized and so they can avoid any distraction. They are most effective learners when they use visual imagery, flash cards, post-its, to-do lists, and any other visual association.


Auditory learners, like myself, work in quiet areas so they can steer clear of any distractions, like excessive noise. They retain the most information by studying when they rehearse information orally, discuss certain topics with others, and when they use mnemonics, rhymes, and jingles to memorize materials.


Kinesthetic learners are the ones who are very hands-on. Hands-on learners appreciate it when their instructors keep verbal discourse short and to the point. They also use all five senses: sight, touch, taste, smell, and hearing. To prepare for tests, they practice, play act, and make models. One other thing that is essential for their success are examples, you can never have enough of them!


Here is a simple online test for you to take to figure out your learning type: https://www.chegg.com/play/student-life/quiz-what-type-of-learner-are-you/

As we go through this year, I am positive that many of you will be frustrated and unmotivated to study or to finish school, and maybe that could be because of the way you are studying or learning. Think about it for a minute. If a teacher came up to me and told me to teach myself a lesson using only graphics, I would be totally discouraged, but if a teacher gave me a voice memo over a lesson, then I would have a positive outcome.

Take this information, and use it to your advantage. Make this school year the best school year!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page